Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    topladyj Posts: 323, Reputation: 13

Feb 27, 2008, 11:20 AM
    Pinsol and bleach mixture
    Can you mix pinesol and bleach together without harmfull side effects. The store I work at does it all the time I hate using the stuff cause it is so strong. But I no you can't mix amonia and bleach does pine sol have amonia in it?
    this8384 Posts: 4,564, Reputation: 485
    Ultra Member

Feb 27, 2008, 12:04 PM
    Check the Pine-Sol label.
    kp2171 Posts: 5,318, Reputation: 1612
    Uber Member

Feb 27, 2008, 12:41 PM
    Pine sol has alcohol surfactants, sulfonate binders, and pine oil. I don't believe any of these react with bleach (im a chemist by training years ago, but don't work with these chemicals and not claiming expert knowledge here).

For expert, reliable knowledge, id go right to the source. Contact clorox and state you've worked in a situation where bleach was mixed with pine sol and are there any concerns about this.

The Clorox Company | Our Products

Go to the bottom of the page and click on "contact us" then request information by filling in the blanks. It will most likely be passed on to a technical person who will answer your question within a few days. I've usually had success in the past using company contact sites like this to get chemical info such as what you are asking.

Feb 27, 2008, 05:04 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by this8384
    Check the Pine-Sol label.
    Pine sol does not put any ingredients on there lable thanks though.

Feb 27, 2008, 05:07 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by kp2171
    pine sol has alcohol surfactants, sulfonate binders, and pine oil. i dont believe any of these react with bleach (im a chemist by training years ago, but dont work with these chemicals and not claiming expert knowledge here).