Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    cabezon1980 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 24, 2008, 08:15 AM
    Repairing apparent leak in line under Kitchen sink faucet
    To Whom It May Concern:

My wife and I just noticed a significant leak in one of the lines that apprently connects to the kitchen faucet. I think I can see where the water comes from... but then again, the leak could easily be farther up where I can't see.

To explain further, I can see three lines under the sink: the hot and cold water lines (not sure which is which) and the line that goes to the faucet (we have an extendable faucet that can also serve as a sprayer). All three lines meet right below the faucet and I think that is where the leak is at. The only problem: I can't get to it... nor do I know how to remove the faucet to see where it's at.

We're both very new parents; I'm a college student; we just bought this house and so we don't have a lot of money to spend on an expensive plumber. So, if I can fix the leak myself, that's best. Please help me... I have a good idea where the leak is at but just don't know what to do from here. Thanks in advance.
    massplumber2008 Posts: 12,832, Reputation: 1212
    Senior Plumbing Expert

Feb 24, 2008, 11:43 AM
    Cabezon... first thing to do is empty out under the sink... crawl in there with a good flashlight and locate the leak.

Hot water is on left, cold water on right, and the extended spray is in center (with a weight or spring on it).

Check everything... shutoffs, any connection points between different pipes/materials, etc.

Then check the spray... pull it out and check the above sink connections first... run water while checking... then with water running go under sink and see if hose leaks underneath.

If we don't know which connections leak we cannot explain how to repair?

Start here, let us know from there.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question: