Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Jackie917 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 22, 2008, 10:25 AM
    Physical therapists
    I was wondering if anyone had any information about the physical therapy profession. I'm attending a college this fall as a freshman. I'm very nervous about the 6 years of school I'm not really sure what to expect. I'd like to think of myself as a good student but I'm scared of failure. I've also been told I wouldn't make a good physical therapist because I'm small (just under 5' 2'' 110 pounds) is that true? Just wondering if anyone had anything that could maybe help me out. Thanks :)
    mrj Posts: 12, Reputation: 2

Mar 19, 2008, 01:16 PM
    Jackie 917:

Hi Jackie, I am a freshman in college pursuing Physical Therapy so I know some of the expectations. You will need to take a year of chemistry and its labs, a year of physics and its labs, a year of biology and its labs, developmental and general psychology, statistics, calculus, medical terminology, and an oral communication class. At least these are the classes that my university requires. And, you need to do around 50-100 service hours at two different physical therapy locations. To apply for physical therapy school at my school, you need three letters of recommendation. I know this is probably really intimidating, but it really isn't that bad. Just take your time and don't be afraid to ask for help.

As for the height issue, I am not really sure. I wouldn't think it would be an issue. Hope all of this helps. If you have any more questions just let me know! I am happy to help!

-Jennie
    gemini67 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Sep 5, 2008, 05:12 PM
    I am a PT myself. I'm petite, 4'10, 100 lbs. I have been a practicing PT for almost 15 yrs. I have never encountered any problem regarding my height and weight. What important is that you have the knowledge and skills in this profession. Good luck and study hard.
    Horth Posts: 16, Reputation: 3

Mar 25, 2009, 08:34 PM