Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    wesjohn Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Feb 20, 2008, 08:51 AM
    Windows Based Machines Losing Network Connection
    For the past month and a half (maybe longer) I've had a problem with Windows boxes on my network losing connection. I've replaced an ancient switch (10 yrs old, 10mbps), the Sonicwall, yet the problem still persists.

This network is mostly used for public access in our library. They are mostly XP machines, however, there are a handful of Win98 boxes that it has plagued as well. There is no rhyme or reason to when the machines lose connection... it's fairly sporadic.

The only way to temporarily solve the problem is to uninstall and reinstall the NIC driver. This fixes it for an intermittent amount of time

I'm fairly new to networking at this is driving me insane! The hub is probably next on my replace list.

Could this be a DNS virus? Someone mentioned this and I've found out about DNS changers. I just ran an AVG Pro scan under diagnostic mode in XP and haven't found anything. It has happened on computers used by staff only which makes me think it is probably not a virus. However, I thought perhaps this could be spreading all over the network. Any scanners you'd recommend?

Someone told me to try and unplug everything from the hub and go straight into the router. I only have four ports, though, so that might not work.

Our wired network is all that is affected by this. Wireless is perfect.
    gilton Posts: 13, Reputation: 2

Feb 22, 2008, 06:04 AM
    Your hub may be the first reason, secondly scan your entire network node for virus. Recommended scanner is MacAfee sdat file, you can download it from this link

McAfee, Inc. - Downloads - Virus Protection - DAT Files

Download the latest sdatxx.exe from Superdat TAB.
    TechEmperor Posts: 93, Reputation: 8

Feb 22, 2008, 09:09 AM