Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jammy23 Posts: 545, Reputation: 0

Feb 15, 2008, 07:45 AM
    Re medical Records request
    This is complicated and I'm not sure the best way to proceed. My old roommate had
    Surgery at a LI hospital in about 1995 or 1996. She never got her records or
    Pathology. She moved back to the caribbean island she came from. She ended up
    With surgery but they mis-diagnosed her. She has no insurance. She went to Cuba
    Which is not too far. They found a malignancy. The doctor wants her records from
    The states.
    I know about HIPPA, I'm a retired nurse. I just don't know the best approach to
    Getting her records. The fax machines in Cuba are unreliable. Her friend at her
    Home only has a computer, no fax and no fax at work. I have no fax... I have
    Her doctor's name and number in Cuba. He really wants those records ASAP.
    How best can I help.
    LearningAsIGo Posts: 2,653, Reputation: 350
    Survivor

Feb 15, 2008, 07:56 AM
    Unfortunately, you may not be able to get them from 12 - 13 years ago. Medical records are not required to be kept that long, but some places may do so.

Contact the records department and ask that they mail them. It will take longer but its worth a shot.
    jammy23 Posts: 545, Reputation: 0

Feb 15, 2008, 08:00 AM
    Thank you for getting back to me. But my problem is this back and forth
    Communication. Can permission be granted via telephone from Cuba to the
    US with the doctor and patient present instead of waiting for all the release
    Forms to go back and forth. That could take forever.
    KISS Posts: 12,510, Reputation: 839
    Uber Member

Feb 15, 2008, 09:33 AM
    Getting the records to her by email would not be difficult on your part, if you can get the records.

Some Fedex/Kinko locations have the ability for you to scan to .PDF. They charge by time and it ends up costing about $1.00/page in my experience. Take a USB drive with you to store the pictures.