Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mylardatter Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 12, 2008, 01:48 PM
    compression springs and extension springs
    I am an artist trying to figure out which extension spring to buy to hold back three compression springs. I am using 3 compression springs with the following attributes:
    deflection a load = 1.1"
    load lbs =1.95 and
    rate lbs/in = 1.77
    (these are the specs in the catalog)
    they are stacked in a row end on end. How do I figure out the extenion spring that would be needed to hold back three of these compression springs in cocked position? I tried a extension spring with the following attributes, but it could only hold 2 of the compression springs, not three: load=3.69lbs
    def@ load= .5 "
    rate lbs/in = 6.05
    tension lbs = .36
    I don't know what any of the measurements mean, help!
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Feb 12, 2008, 03:05 PM
    It's a bit difficult to follow you. I assume that the compression spring will be compressed from their rest position, and the extension spring will be arranged to somehow keep the compression springs from springing back to rest position, correct? What we would need to know is how far are you planning to compress the compression spring set, and then we can tell you how much the extension spring must be extended to counteract them. For example, if you want the compression springs to be compressed by 1.1 inches, this requires a force of 1/3 of 1.95 pounds = 0.65 pounds. This load can be generated by the extension spring if it is stretched 0.65/6.05 = 0.11 inches.
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Feb 13, 2008, 08:00 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by mylardatter
    sorry I didint know if I should repost to ask you questions or just mail you...
    SO, my totally confusing problem: