Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Angeletti Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 12, 2008, 09:55 AM
    Educated Felony needing assistance
    This is my first time hearing about this cite. I hope I can get some type of positive feedback. I'm a felon and I live in Jackson, Mississippi. I just completed college with a Bachelor's in Marketing at Jackson State University. I have a felony charge on my record and I can't find employment anywhere. I tried to get my felony expunged, but due to my charge it can't. I was convicted of possession of cocaine with intent to distribute. This charge can't be expunged in the state of Mississippi. This happened in 2000. It's now 2008 and I got a degree and the results are the same. If anybody can help me I will greatly appreciate it. Thanks!
    talaniman Posts: 54,327, Reputation: 10855
    Expert

Feb 12, 2008, 10:43 AM
    What programs are available to assist convicted felons in gaining...
    Jobs For Felons

These are a few sites I found, and there are more, I just googled "employment for felons" You can also see if there are employment help within the school you graduated from. Just don't give up, keep pushing, even if there are only temp positions, or part time jobs. Also try, the faith based programs, that are run by local churches, they may have leads.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Feb 12, 2008, 01:04 PM
    Hello Angel:

You'll just have to work a little harder at finding work. Try the little mom and pop shops where you'll be interviewing with the top guy.

excon
    reh75 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

May 30, 2008, 04:20 PM
    Congratulations!! Your effort in obtaining your degree and turning this smudge on your record into such an achievement speeks volumes. Keep reaching out like you have here and someone in power will hear your voice. If I was in an important business position, I would definetely give you an interview. Some of your greatest minds are in the wrong areas of employment.