Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    bbbqt Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 20, 2006, 12:11 AM
    Depo
    I was on the depo shot for 6 months and missed my last shot. Its been a month and I still haven't gotten my period.How long until I get my period again? Should I be taking a pregnancy test?
    PrettyLady Posts: 2,765, Reputation: 332
    -

Jan 20, 2006, 12:20 AM
    Bbbqt, you should schedule an appointment with your doctor as soon as possible. They will give you a pregnancy test and examine you to determine what's causing the absence of your period.
    curlybenswife Posts: 2,477, Reputation: 267
    Ultra Member

Jan 20, 2006, 02:32 AM
    Right I have a lot of experience with depo the stuffs evil to be honest you were lucky to even have a period while taking the stuff, its extreamly unlikely you are pregnant as it takes up to 6 months to leave your system this is also why you won't have had a period.
    I was on depo for nearly 12 years no one told me you shouldn't have it more than three no one told me the risks of having children after well I sure as hell know now it took me 2 years to conceive after stopping that stuff and I was bloody lucky to do so too there are many women out there that become sterile because of it may I suggest you do a bit of research there is a great msn group you could go look up.
    If on the other hand you think you might be pregnant then I suggest you do a test but its rather unlikely.
    Good luck

Laura
    PrettyLady Posts: 2,765, Reputation: 332
    -

Jan 20, 2006, 02:45 AM
    Curlybenswife is right. Irregular, heavy, or no bleeding are common side effects of Depo Provera, otherwise known as 'the shot'. After a year of use, many women stop having periods, lack of a period becomes increasingly common with longer use. If you are concerned about the changes in your menstrual cycle, it is recommended you see your doctor.
    mrs.pennell Posts: 132, Reputation: 21

Jan 20, 2006, 02:25 PM