Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tenaj Posts: 13, Reputation: 1

Jan 19, 2006, 08:05 PM
    Newbie asking What did I do Wrong?
    :( Hi newbie here. Somebody tell me what I have done wrong.

I just purchased Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005 and it comes with Office 2003. I don't want to use Office 2003 because it doesn't have Front Page. I uninstalled Office 2003 and tried to install MO97 Standard and I got the error message:

htmlmarg.ocx was unable to register itself in the registry system. I went to regedit and clicked on HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE then I click on software and then clicked on Microsoft and then clicked on windows NT and then clicked on Currentversion file execution options:

and instead of seeing htmlmarg.ocx and htmlmm.ocx to change them, I got
    (AB) red and white icon and (Default) REG_SZ value not set.

Can somebody tell me what I did wrong.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jan 20, 2006, 06:34 AM
    At this point in time you cannot purchase XP Media Center Edition separately. It only comes preinstalled on a Media Center PC. So did you purchase a Media center PC or what?

Second, Windows does not come with Office in any version. However, many PC manufacturers include a trial version of Office has a bundle. Also Office Standard doesn't come with FP in any version.

So where did you get what you say you installed?

Jan 20, 2006, 10:06 AM
    I bought it years ago when I was running 98. Since then I've had Windows Me which came with MO2000 including Front Page. That's what I upgraded from but I couldn't find the CDs only the 97. I just bought a new computer Windows XP Media Center Edition and I didn't want the trial version of MO2003.

I did work around and installed MO97. Thanks for your help ScottGem. God Bless.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jan 20, 2006, 10:43 AM
    Glad you got it going.

Jan 20, 2006, 03:21 PM