Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Evinx Posts: 12, Reputation: 1

Jan 16, 2006, 03:46 PM
    Toilet Gurgle
    House is about 1.5 yrs old + connected to City Sewer system.
    When up stairs washing machine drains, we get gurgling + suds in downstairs toilet bowl (just beneath it). No other drains are problem. Only gurgles when upstairs washer drains from full load with suds (does not happen when just try it with water only -- + does not happen with less than full load of water in washer). Plumber snaked drain + no effect. He now thinks we have NO vent but has not gone on roof yet. If we had NO vent, wouldn't there have been other problems + not just from full load of water in washer? House was inspected by City many times during construction. Any suggestions P-L-E-A-S-E. My guess is vent is partially obstucted somewhere between roof + washer but I am a layman so desperate for some professional help.
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Jan 16, 2006, 04:24 PM
    Where did the plumber snake out the drain from? As a rule when we get a back up it's because the discharge hits a partial clog and backs until it drains away. Having said that, and the fact that it's suds and not clear water that comes up in the toilet it could very well be a clogged vent. Have your plumber snake out the washer vent line. If your house were 150 years old instead of 1.5 years I might buy that the washer wasn't vented. Your plumber's blowing smoke. If he can't locate the vent coming out the roof have him check in the attic to see if it was revented back into the main roof vent. It's up there, he just has to locate it. Good luck, Tom

Jan 16, 2006, 04:33 PM