Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pqnoppie Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 2, 2008, 10:30 PM
    Tax for F-1 visa on OPT with tax treaty, resident alien for tax purpose
    HI--I have multiple "identities" with regard to tax:
    1. I'm an F-1 visa holder
    2. I'm on OPT from Sept.2007-Aug.2008
    3. I have benefits of tax treaty, under which I can be exempted from federal taxes up to $5000 a year for wages, and unlimited amount for fellowship
    4. I'm a resident alien for tax purpose due to the fact I've been in the US for more than 5 years

In year 2007, I received fellowship as well as wages from three different institutions in 3 different states. My wages did exceed $5000. So, how much, how and when should I pay for my federal taxes?

Many thanks!
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Feb 4, 2008, 09:19 AM
    Normally the F1 visa is exempt from residency for 5 years. After five years, you will file as resident if you meet the SPT of 183 days. As a resident, if you are Single, you get standard deduction of $5,350 and exemption of $3,400.

To tell you if the above is true is your case or not, we need to know when you entered the U.S. of F1 and your citizenship and are you single or married.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 6, 2008, 12:23 PM
    Agreed. More informaton is needed.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Treaty USA-Italy Non-resident Alien Tax Exemption [ 27 Answers ]

Hello, I have a question related to the non-resident alien/resident alien problems. More in detail, I have a question about the exemption under international agreements between USA and my country Italy. Briefely, I describe my situation. I am an Italian citizien. On the 3rd of September 2002...