Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    hauser5 Posts: 699, Reputation: 92

Feb 2, 2008, 01:22 PM
    Biometric fingerprint sensor to print time and user id
    I am a driver for a small trucking company, and they are in need of a cheap way to track when drivers leave and return. A simple punch timeclock will not suffice because of "buddy punching", etc. I know what we need, but don't know if it is possible. The perfect set-up would be a biometric fingerprint reader/sensor (linked to a pc) that automatically prints the user id and the current time of the swipe. I know you can buy biometric timeclocks and software, but even the office workers might have trouble with it, and I don't want to become an office worker, unless they want to pay me for it. Also, someone may break it, or otherwise rip it off the wall and steal it! Therefore, we need something simple that just prints the info to a secured printer inside the office, while the reader is routed outside of the locked room. This will be best because if the PC is in the open, someone may turn it off, or otherwise mess it up, and that would become a hassle too. Someone please help me determine if it is possible to link a fingerprint reader to a printer that will do this. It would have to have a way to know that the swipe was successful as well (perhaps a red or green light?) If they successfully swiped more than once, that wouldn't matter, because on the printout, they would see that it was just a duplicate. As far as a successful swipe indicator, it would be possible to have a screen mounted inside the office in view if needed, but that would be costly on monitor usage and life.