Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    socalten Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 26, 2008, 05:14 PM
    Ripped off by employer to the tune of hundreds of 1000's
    I worked as a 100% commission sales rep for small company for which I brought in millions of $$ in sales volume annually (I was there 5 years). The owner used the company as a personal ATM and frequently got in cash flow crunches which resulted in a myriad of negative consequences - not the least of which being I was falling further and further behind in unpaid commissions the last year I was there. In April 2007 I was set to have a $1 sales volume month (my biggest ever), and on March 31 I was terminated without notice and the reason when asked was, "I cannot afford you anymore." How can you not afford a 100% commissioned salesperson? The real reason was greed and ego.

Flash forward - I filed a lawsuit in Superior Court and it has been vascillating in nonsense ever since. The legal system is an endless web of time wasting activities and has nothing to do with "right and wrong." Meanwhile, I am paying an attorney $350 an hour to get nowhere in an expensive hurry. What blows me away is that someone could go into 7-Eleven and steal $20 and it's a felony but an employer stealing hundreds of thousands of dollars from an employee is apparently not a problem. Please advise...
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Jan 26, 2008, 05:28 PM
    Hello so:

What's to advise? You've got a lawyer. He's doing his thing. Yes, it's long and expensive and you might not win, and you might not collect EVEN if you do win... Ok. Most suits take three years or longer to wend their way through the system.

That's our system. Yeah, I wish the wheels of justice moved a bit faster, too.

excon

PS> Do you want to hear where YOU screwed up?? No you don't, but I'm going to tell you anyway. I would have given my boss maybe an extra week to make good on my commissions – no more.