Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    OregonSNOB Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 24, 2008, 01:45 PM
    Unknown Anger Issue
    I am not too sure where to start. I am on my third marriage and still do not seem to be doing anything right.

Let me give you some background information on myself... I am a disabled Vet who has PTSD/Major Depression/ with loads of Anxities. I am almost always hyper-vigilant/sensative to things around me. I really only feel safe when I am at home, alone, and then sometimes not even then.

I have been through a DBT class and have learned loads from that on how to deal with my feelings and emotions but it doesn't seem to be the answer when it comes to my anger, which is ever so present in my life, no matter what I do. I am a load better than what I used to be but it still seems to run/ruin my life. I am miserable.

In my current situation; married with step-children who think of me as their only known father, I have only lost my temper one time and had one child removed from the household. He was involved in a prior abusive marriage where he was abused both physically and verbally. From the very beginning, he and I hit heads. No matter what I did to make him feel loved, he rejected me and taunted me with his hate for men/father figure. He now resides with his grandparents. I blew up with him and rage got the best of me. Although I did no physical harm, I did yell and curse at him and came after him. My 18 year old stopped me and I later checked into my local Mental Health facillity for a short stay. He was removed from the house during that time.

With my PTSD, I have constant nightmares and anniversary dates through-out the year which makes it very difficult for me to have any real peaceful days. When I get triggered it takes me a little longer to calm down than most other people and if I am triggered again before calming down, then it makes it even longer and then I start to seeth.