Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    talligator2001 Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Jan 8, 2006, 09:57 PM
    Education credit
    Hi,
    I was student on F1 visa since Aug 2001 to Dec 2003. In Jan 2004 I got a job, I was on OPT till Oct 2004. On Oct 1st I got my H1B visa approved.
    Now during my years as a student, I paid fees for my 1st semester i.e Aug 2001 to Dec 2001) and my last semester( Aug 2003 to Dec 2003) which was a total of 15000$.
    Now my wife is doing her studies, and till now I have paid 6000$ for her fees and books.
    This year we will be filing 1040 form under married filing jointly. Now can I take any education credits for the fees that I have paid while doing my Masters studies ? If so how does it work out. From what I read on IRS website, it says that I can take lifetime learning credit for any number of years, so what does that mean ?
    Can I take whatever expenses I have paid till date for my Masters studies under lifetime credit and my wife's expenses under tuition and fees deduction ?
    Or can I take both of our expenses under education credit.
    Or can you suggest any other way
    Thanks
    talligator2001
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jan 9, 2006, 06:57 AM
    Talligator2001:

Since you are filing jointly with your spouse as a resident alien using Form 1040, you are eligible for claiming the Education Credit which was not available to you as a non-resident alien.

You can claim the credit on the 2005 return only for expenses incurred during calendar year 2005. Hence, your 2001 and 2003 tuition payments cannot be claimed.

The credit takes three forms:

1) As a adjustment (deduction) to your income.

2) As a HOPE credit (available only for the first two years of college education).

3) As a Lifetime Learning Credit (available every year for any level of higher education).