Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    dcraig8 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jan 7, 2006, 11:17 PM
    Basement toilet drain 14" from wall :(
    Am tackling putting in a bathroom in the basement. Walls are already up, but I noticed now that the center of the drain for the toilet is around 14" from the studs (drywall yet to go on). Is a seemingly simple installation now going to be a more major undertaking? I'm relatively new at this and am getting some conflicting info on the appropriate distance that is appropriate. Is the best option an offset flange (guess I'd be hacking up the cement?) or is just going with it at this distance OK? I have not purchase a toilet yet so I have flexibility there. Any responses would be appreciated.
    Challenged in Edmonton
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Jan 8, 2006, 06:48 AM
    12" off the finished wall is the distance we give to the center of the closet flange. if you install a regular toilet you will be 1 3'8" off the wall\ which isn't all that bad. But if it bothers you, rather then hassle a one inch offset flange, Eljer makes a 14" rough in toilet Called "The Emblem - E-5354 that you might consider installing. Good luck, Tom
    frankiedon53 Posts: 39, Reputation: 1

Jun 16, 2013, 09:02 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by speedball1 View Post
    12" off the finished wall is the distance we give to the center of the closet flange. If you install a regular toilet you will be 1 3'8" off the wall\ which isn't all that bad. But if it bothers you, rather then hassle a one inch offset flange, Eljer makes a 14" rough in toilet Called "The Emblem - E-5354 that you might consider installing. Good luck, Tom
    It's better that it's a little too far from the wall than too close.I would fill the space with a nice looking piece of wood as another option.
    massplumber2008 Posts: 12,832, Reputation: 1212
    Senior Plumbing Expert

Jun 16, 2013, 09:24 AM