Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jtrent68 Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Jan 7, 2006, 06:15 PM
    Notice To Terminate
    I'm new to this fourm so I'm not sure if I'm posting this on the right thread. If not if someone can redirect me that would be great.

We are in a house that we have been renting. It started as a buy. The escrow was for 90 days and the owners were renting the house to us until the escrow closed. The loan did not work out like we thought it would. So the owners agreed to rent until we got our credit scores up to where we can get our loan. Part of the problem is that we have our own house in another city we are trying to sell. None of this may have anything to do with my question but I added it anyway. The question is, we were served with a notice to terminate last Wednesday. Everyday we have been getting a new notice. It states on there 30 days or Feb 4, 2006. Which ever is later. What is the best thing to do? Leave by Feb 4?

Thanks
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jan 7, 2006, 06:26 PM
    Call them
    Well first of course a person can do a lot of things but if you want to do what is proper, if you are asked to leave and given a good notice that would be the proper thing. (I would assume the other party is going to try and sell the house again)

But in general the best thing to do, since it appears you have a nice owner, since they allowed you to rent for a while, is to talk to them and see what can be worked out and/or work out a move out date that works best for you.

Jan 7, 2006, 06:41 PM
    I should add that I live in California. I know the laws vary from state to state.