Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    rachie Posts: 38, Reputation: 6

Jan 13, 2008, 07:45 AM
    Lost my way
    Hey everyone...
    esp. any catholics/ priests out there?.
    I am having a hard time. I am a fallen away catholic, who has tried many different christian denoms since, only to return to the church I was raised in... I got married, and recently baptized our first baby catholic. My husband is not catholic however supports me in whatever I decide to do.
    My problem is, I have quit going to mass and fallen away from christianity almost completely... it is so hard for me I have so many questions. (maybe because I was a philosophy student and I think too much? ) the worst is the sex abuse by the priests... our so called fathers that we are trusting with our kids and our lives... how can the catholic church be the one true church if these priests are evil?
    For example, how can we believe the bible when it was written by MEN, with their own objectives in mind, and to make matters worse every denomination believes different verses mean different things... people twist the bible to say what they want it to say (for example, look at the killing throughout history in "jesus" or the "church's" name)
    Also, I was trying to convince my parents, also fallen away catholics, to return to church... when they asked me why I baptized my son and they don't agree with the catholic or any other faith any more, only the "bible"...
    Anyway I was trying to convince them to return to church, but I couldn't give a good defense...

They said "we dont go to church because everyone we know there is a hypocrite. they say they believe one thing and yet live another way. "