Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    sara Kersten-Murphy Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jan 12, 2008, 08:42 PM
    Training to qualify: 100m (track)
    I have been training seriously for the 100m meter sprints for three years now. This time in 2005 I had significant improvements in my performance taking 1.3 seconds off my PB over the distance to run a 12.75 seconds 100m :) This improvement was great but just shy of the Australian national standards to represent at national level being 12.54 sec. The following year I improved to 12.61 sec, but again missing the national qualifier.

In 2007 I had a big study load and commitment to work and only produced a personal best of 12.81 seconds I dropped weight from 62 kg to 58 kg maintaining my strength levels with minimal weight training and sprint

... and this season (2008) so far I have not been able to run under 13.00 seconds after 3 competitions. I gained weight over winter (both muscle and fat to be 65 kg) and improved strength on the bench press.

I have High aspirations to represent nationally in the open woman's event and believe I have the ability to do so. I am now 24 going on 25 this year and would like to know how to best get on top of my performances before my window of opportunity disappears? Currently I am trying to lose body fat but the harder I work at it the tireder I feel always being left under done when I present to competitions. How can I take steps forward from here? With little less then 6 weeks to qualify for nationals and post a 12.54 time or better?

Any advise would be much apprieciated:)
    littlesexy58423 Posts: 26, Reputation: 2

Mar 25, 2008, 08:06 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by sara Kersten-Murphy