Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ArmyGuy2 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 11, 2008, 12:41 PM
    Executive privilege abused
    I'm new to the political scene. But I was watching the news and the term executive privilege was used and a brief explanation was provided. I researched the term and found out that it has been used by past and present Presidents. The executive privilege clearly states that individuals connected to the executive branch of government will not acquiesce to demand to disclose confidential information in cases where the outcome will negative affect on the executive branch or detrimental operations. What a crock! I searched the constitution, and I could not find the concept of executive privilege. This leads me to believe that the term is an implied presidential interpretation. Is this possible? If so, Should the concept of executive privilege be defined in a statute to ensure important information is not excluded from review for political reasons or should it remain a rather undefined term to protect the privacy of the President:confused:
    Dark_crow Posts: 1,405, Reputation: 196
    Ultra Member

Jan 11, 2008, 01:45 PM
    It is constitutional privilege that exempts members of the executive branch from disclosing information that affects national security. However, executive privilege cannot be used to cover up actions and policies that involve an outright violation of the law, or to shield an official who might have lied to Congress. Yes, executive privilege is controversial because of occasional abuses.
    tomder55 Posts: 1,742, Reputation: 346
    Ultra Member

Jan 12, 2008, 03:47 AM
    Executive privilege is an implied power of the executive. This has been debated throughout our history . The courts has generally taken a position that it will not rule on issues of separation of powers ;even though they have in fact ruled both ways throughout history ;so the issue will continue to be debated.