Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    [email protected] Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 4, 2006, 01:22 PM
    DUI Defense
    I was accused of DUI in Los Angeles County. The main facts I have in my favour are:
    1. The police did not actually stop me because my car was out of gas.
    2. The car was not turned on.
    3. The keys were not in the ignition.
    4. The police can not prove when I stopped driving.
    5. The police can not prove if I was driving.
    6. The police can not prove when I ran out of gas.
    7. The police can not prove when I last drank alcohol.
    8. I was not offered the opportunity to take a blood test, I was told I had to take a breathalizer.

I wonder if I have a reasonable assumtion that I can fight this charge or plead to something lesser.

Thanks
    CaptainForest Posts: 3,645, Reputation: 393
    Ultra Member

Jan 4, 2006, 02:33 PM
    Hi,

I am not a lawyer and am not familiar with the laws of Los Angeles, but from what you said, it sounds like you should never have been charged.

How can you be charges with a DUI when you weren’t driving and they keys weren’t in the ignition?

You will need lawyer to represent you on this, and perhaps he/she will know the legal answer, but I think you are in a good position for an acquittal.
    migueli_d Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jan 5, 2006, 03:42 PM
    Duii
    I know in Oregon they offer a deversion course for first offense, takes a year, and when completed your record is clean. I also know from defending my daughter for MIP that who ever gives the breathe test must be certified and the machines must be calerberized regularly and they must be able to show it is. I won my case for my daughter by reasearching the laws for breathilizer testing. You can writer the FCC for a free booklet on all the requirements.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jan 5, 2006, 09:09 PM
    Drunk as a skunk