Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    shebs Posts: 2, Reputation: 2

Jan 10, 2008, 10:49 AM
    Sensation of lump in throat
    I've had the sensation of a lump in my throat for almost 6 weeks now. Some days it's hardly there, other days it's really bothersome. I'm a professional actor, and it started in the last week of rehearsal for my last show and continued all through the run. I thought it was just muscle tiredness or nerves and would go away after the show closed, but I've continued to have it now for over 3 weeks since the show ended.

I never lost my voice, but the last week or so, my voice hasn't been as resonate as usual and it's a little gravely at times. I went to my GP yesterday and she said it was a virus that's going around and usually lasts about 3 months.

I'm really worried I've done some vocal damage and I have pre-nodes. Does this sound like a virus or do you think it may be vocal damage? I start rehearsals for my next show in less than 3 weeks and I need a healthy voice by then. If I damage my voice, I will have no source of income - I'm really concerned about this. Should I push for an appointment with an ENT to get a scope done? I don't know what to do
    askingquestions Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 20, 2008, 12:30 PM
    Go to your ent. This could just be anxiety. He can look down your throat. Odds are you're thinking about it too much and your stress is the cause. This happened to me. I was sure something was wrong but it turned out to be anxiety that was causing my throat to clench.
    rox123 Posts: 2, Reputation: 2

Feb 9, 2008, 10:19 AM
    I know how you feel.I have had a lump in my throat and horrible mucous in the back of my throat since Jan 4th and it now affects my sleeping.I went to the Doctors and they have given me Acid reflux proton tablet but its still there.
    I wondered if there was a virus going around at the moment that is causing this? I've NEVER had anything like this before and its really getting me down.