Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    willoughby04 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jan 10, 2008, 07:19 AM
    Claiming child on taxes
    I have been paying child support for my child since 2002. I was recently told that every three years I should be eligible to claim my son on my taxes. Is this true and if so what do I need to do to be able to do this? My ex-wife is not working and is remarried.
    NowWhat Posts: 1,634, Reputation: 264
    Ultra Member

Jan 10, 2008, 07:25 AM
    Normally this should have been worked out in the divorce. I thought the standard was every other year. I would look at the divorce papers and see if it is outlined.

All of my divorced friends do the every other year thing with their ex's.
    Hope this helps.
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Jan 10, 2008, 10:37 AM
    Child support is never considered for claiming a child as dependent.
    Only the custodial parent can claim the child. Non custodial parent can claim the child only if the custodial parent signs a declaration or if there is a court order.
    So talk to your ex to see if she is willing to allow you to claim the child.
    mraquino21 Posts: 81, Reputation: 7

Jan 10, 2008, 11:01 AM