Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    hicarrie Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 9, 2008, 06:35 PM
    Another Bachelor's Degree-Change of Career
    Can you get TWO Bachelor's degrees? If so, do you have to do your General Ed again? How does that work?

I have a Bachelor's Degree in Public Relations, and I work for a nonprofit, but I want to do more and become a Child Advocate or Social Worker. I assume I need to go back to school and get another degree in Human Services. I need to work while in school so it would be easier than getting into a Master's program, and a Master's is not required for such a job. It also doesn't pay enough to warrant a Master's, at least not yet...
    twinkiedooter Posts: 12,172, Reputation: 1054
    Uber Member

Jan 9, 2008, 06:49 PM
    I had a friend years ago who was a medical doctor. He got tired of being a doctor and went on to be a psychiatrist. He got tired of being a psychiatrist and went on to be a lawyer. Now he is happily a forensic psychiatrist for the State of Pennsylvania and happy as a clam. As far as I know he never had to do his general ed again but kept going back and getting more and more initials put after his name...
    shygrneyzs Posts: 5,017, Reputation: 936
    Uber Member

Jan 9, 2008, 06:57 PM
    No, you do not have to do your general studies again. It would be odd if they all did not transfer to a different college. Same with your studies you took for your specific degree. It all gets counted and the only courses you will need to do are those pertaining to the degree you want - unless the college has their own requirement. For example, the second college I attended required everyone to take a course in Native American Studies. It was just part of their curriculum.
    ordinaryguy Posts: 1,790, Reputation: 596
    Ultra Member

Jan 9, 2008, 07:02 PM