Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    josephguo Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 8, 2008, 07:53 PM
    F-1 Student with eBay income, unpaid taxes or voided status?
    Hello everyone, I'm a newbie to this site; hopefully people will help me out on this one. :)

All right, firstly I'm a citizen of China PRC and I am on an F-1 visa studying undergraduate courses here in the US. I'm also a permanent resident of Canada.

In my spare time, I sometimes use eBay to buy and sell stuff like everybody else does. However, this holiday season, I made some quite “successful” deals thanks to the popularity of Nintendo Wii and iPhone. Basically I bought them from local stores and sold them using auction listings on eBay, generally making 100+ per item. The gross income on my account is now more than 5000 dollars.

One day I was surfing online and saw a post regarding taxes on eBay sales. Apparently the IRS does tax people on their eBay earnings. One needs to file a Schedule C as a business if the gross income is greater than a certain amount. The taxable amount for income tax is the gross income less the cost of the goods and other related costs (shipping, eBay & PayPal fees, transportation costs etc.) There's also self-employment tax on the gross income regardless of one makes a profit or a loss. :eek:

This really concerns me since my visa status doesn't allow me to be employed by anyone except the university (not even myself I guess). So if I filed a tax return to the IRS, they would probably notice I have this illegal income and inform the Department of Justice to void my visa. If I didn't file one, I'd probably end up caught by the IRS since PayPal actually collects and pays over funds for me so they may be required to report all payments made to the IRS. I'm in this dilemma right now. It looks like either way I'll break the law.