Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    rar Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jan 3, 2008, 09:35 AM
    Hot water in all sinks but not in two showers
    I've been searching the website, and found some useful information about changing the cartridges and such.

However, I am confused about why I would have hot water everywhere except in two of the three showers.

The guest bathroom has hot water in the shower, it is also closest to the heater, the master bedroom and kids room do not get any hot water. I am new at this, so I do not have any experiece in plumbing.

Any ideas would be greatly apreciated, thanks.
    doug238 Posts: 1,560, Reputation: 62
    Ultra Member

Jan 5, 2008, 12:04 AM
    The high limit needs to be adjusted. Read the instructions that came with

Jan 6, 2008, 10:58 AM
    High limit? What is that?

The showers were working before if that helps in any way
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member

Jan 6, 2008, 12:06 PM
    Older showers were simpler. No hot water usually meant crud in the line, fixed by removing the cartridge and cleaning or replacing it. Many showers now have a control limiting how hot of water you can get. In addition to crud in the line, it could be out of adjustment. I would make sure the line is clear before trying to adjust it.
    Ultra Member

Jan 7, 2008, 07:23 AM
    It also may be the water incoming is colder

Jan 7, 2008, 09:03 PM
    I took it apart today and had some trouble taking the cartridge out. When the cartridge came out, the black plastic parts were broken into pieces. My guess is that was clogging the hot water. Once I put the new one in, it worked great. I still need to do the other bathroom, but I hope it is the same.

On a separte question. When I went to shut the water off for the house, the valve was under water, it was not like that before, is that normal. I drained the water out to see if there is a change.
    Ultra Member

Jan 7, 2008, 10:26 PM
    What is the name of the faucet?