Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Zufan Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Dec 30, 2005, 04:29 PM
    Please advice with changing fuel filter on my '90 Civic
    Hi
    Could anyone offer advice on how I change the fuel filter on my Honda Civic 1990 , it is fuel injection.
    I hear that I first need to unbolt the banjo bolt but I don't know which one it is.
    It would be great if anyone knows of a place online that might have photo's on how to do this and which bolt is which as I am a novice at this.
    Cheers
    Katrina
    CroCivic91 Posts: 729, Reputation: 23

Dec 30, 2005, 06:35 PM
    It's pretty easy, even for a novice.

There are 2 big bolts on top of a fuel filter. One of them has a smaller bolt "inside" of it. It's called a "banjo bolt".

First thing you do, is grab that small bolt, and loosen it some. Place a rag over it before you do it, because gas might squirt out. Also, make sure the engine is cold, so that the squirting gas doesn't ignite on anything. Also, a good thing would be to disconnect the negative battery terminal before you do anything.

After you loosen the nut, open your gas tank filler cap, to relieve fuel pressure. Then remove the 2 bolts on fuel filter. The filter is held on to the chassis with a few more bolts. Take it out, put new one in, put new washers (under the 2 big bolts) and connect everything back. Make sure you tighten the banjo bolt back. Also, remember the fuel tank cap!

Dec 30, 2005, 07:17 PM
    Thanks heaps Crocivic!

I will be on it right away and let you know how I do.

Thanks again
    K.

Jan 2, 2006, 05:03 PM
    Hi Crocivic91.. its me again..