Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Michelle Miller Posts: 32, Reputation: 5

Dec 31, 2007, 12:33 PM
    Wanting to adopt a baby girl to make our family complete
    Hi,

My husband and I are wanting to adopt a baby girl. We were suppose to adopt in October but, the adoption fell through. When we were suppose to sign the papers the girl never showed up. It has been very painful. We were really excited I had been talking to the mother for about four months. We had bought the baby a whole wardrobe and a carseat and they all still have the tags on them. I still haven't been able to return them. We are a loving stable couple. We would prefer to do a private adoption because, it just seems more personal. I guess what my question is. How do we go about finding a birth mom. I know there are lots of people out there looking for adoptive parents. We feel that we have been blessed and we would really like to share that with a child. If anyone has any good ideas on where we go from here I would really appreciate it. I feel we were ready to adopt months ago and I am ready to do it at any time but, I feel there is no where to go from here. If anyone could help I would really appreciate it.

Love,
    Michelle:(

{E-mail address edited out-<>}
    Synnen Posts: 7,927, Reputation: 2443
    Expert

Jan 1, 2008, 12:12 PM
    You may have to try an agency adoption.

Most of the girls that I knew (myself included) that were considering adoption were very leery of private adoptions--because the adoptive family seems to have ALL of the power in a private adoption. THEY are the ones with the expensive lawyer looking out for THEIR interests--but who is there to counsel the pregnant girl about HER interests?

Private adoption, in many cases, is very threatening to a birthmom.