Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Namaste Posts: 14, Reputation: 1

Nov 28, 2007, 08:43 PM
    Information on asking philanthropists for college funds
    I am a 35 year old undergrad, studying psychology and spanish. I am an alcoholic in recovery (4 1/2 years sober) and have ADHD. I plan on getting a PhD and becoming a psychologist. I will specialize in work with youth at risk.

Upon transferring to CSU Channel Islands from Santa Barbara City College (in CA), I decided it was time to concentrate on school full time without working. I have been working full time and going to school for many years. With ADHD, I realize that I need to be able to focus on one thing at a time. This has been the right choice, as my first semester toward my BA draws to a close.

I took advantage of school loans, applied for scholarships , and became a client at the Dept Of Rehabilitation. I have never received scholarships, and govt grants are out of reach, even after raising my GPA. I am heavily in debt with past loans and other financial wreckage (from when I was drinking). I have no assets, and owe more than $35,000. And I rent in Santa Barbara! My parents are helpful, but I no longer wish to rely on them financially, as I need to be self-sufficient.

I have plenty to offer any community, even without the degree(s). I have worked with adults and children with disabilities for over 15 years. I left a job I love working with youth at risk as a special ed aide to get qualified to work with teens individually in a counseling capacity.

I searched the web endlessly and have not found a way to contact Oprah, Bill Gates, etc, as an individual. I simply want to write letters asking for help. Can anyone show me how to do this?

Thank you for your help!

Michelle

Dec 27, 2007, 04:50 PM
    Need money to make my dream come true