Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    rawad Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 27, 2007, 12:47 PM
    Honda Prelude 89. Would not start when it is hot outside
    Honda Prelude 89. Would not start when it is warm outside but no problems when it is cold (-26). I had this car for 13 years and it always worked. In the last couple of years, it starts right away when it is cold outside but not if it's warm outside(32+). Most times, I can push start it ( manual transmission). Somebody mentioned that Hondas have a known issue with fuel relay when it is hot outside but I'm not an expert. Any ideas?

Thanks for the help!
    Ralph
    TxGreaseMonkey Posts: 16,761, Reputation: 5597
    Uber Member

Dec 27, 2007, 12:52 PM
    Replace the main relay and your problem should be solved. This is a classic problem with Hondas.

Depending upon your engine, it should look and cost something like those below:

While we find your parts, please enter your ZIP Code at PartsAmerica.com

Over time, cold solder joints develop. Some people try resoldering them.

Here's where it's located and how to do the job yourself:

. Remove coin tray covering the fuse panel.
    . Remove 5 screws holding the lower steering column cover..
    . Unplug the 3 electrical connectors attached to the lower steering cover.
    . Using a 10 mm socket and ratchet with extension, remove the 2 bolts holding the fuse panel.
    . Work the fuse panel out from under the dash and disconnect some of the shorter harness connectors to get the fuse panel out.
    . Unplug the wire harness connector from the main relay.
    . Use a small flathead screwdriver to depress the tab that locks the main relay onto the fuse panel.
    . Slide relay off.

Installation is the reverse of the above procedure, although it isn't required to bolt the main relay in its original spot. Move the relay to a low, suitable spot, where it is cool and away from heat.