Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Amprev9 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 27, 2007, 12:08 PM
    Bad smell in home when it rains
    We have been getting a foul smell in a downstairs front room whenever it rains for about 8 weeks. The local Council first told us it was a dead rodent trapped in a wall cavity and that it would go away after 3 weeks when the rat had decomposed. It has gone on too long for it to be this now. We have had our personal drains checked for blockages and they are clear. All the household plumbing runs at the back of the house and not to the front. The water company has checked the sewer in the road and sent a camera down and they have said it is clear. We don't know what to do.

The smell is sometimes like a rotten drainy smell, other times smells more like sewage. It only happens when it rains, which is often where we live.
    smearcase Posts: 2,392, Reputation: 316
    Ultra Member

Dec 27, 2007, 09:43 PM
    I am a reired highway engineer, not a plumber. The smell of raw sewerage is unmistakeable. If you are not sure, you have to find out somehow. Call a plumber if you don't have a friend or relative that can assist. I would say if the public works people (I assume they smelled what you are referring to) went to the trouble of inspecting with cameras, they recognize the odor.
    The sewer can look fine during normal weather but if it is being infiltrated with rain water (very common in older city/county systems) it could be backing up during rain storms. If that were the case, you should have heard from your neighbors too. Can you smell it outside --near the street?
    Could it be a toilet gasket? Could there be tree roots causing damage to the sewerline from your house to the street. Maybe the rain association is coincidental. Do you have a cleanout on your sewerline you can remove. If you do removing it will give you a dose of the unmistakeable smell referred to earlier.