Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    d_auria721 Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Dec 25, 2007, 07:54 PM
    Any ideas for money so I can go to college?
    Hey I'm a freshman in college going for my bachelor in English. I'm looking to become a teacher in New York. The problem is that my school refuses to except any federal loans that aren't through the school itself. My parents haven't paid their taxes though and in turn, the school refused to give me anything. Everybody in my family also has too low of a credit score to cosign a private loan of any kind. My parents keep promising to pay for college but have let me down for the first term and in turn are about to let me down for the second. I have already begged one aunt for money for the first term and I only have one more family member for the money for this term. That money I still have to pay back. It kind of doesn't help that no one in my family believes that I will graduate from college at all just because I'm the first one to graduate from high school. Any ideas?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Dec 25, 2007, 08:04 PM
    I believe NYC has some programs to pay for college ( or at least they did) if you agree to teach school in some of their inner city districts.

And why have your parents not did their tax returns, that is all sort of problems beyond your school.

Also have you looked into the ROTC programs at your college, you have to serve in the military after graduation, but they pay for your college.

Dec 25, 2007, 08:09 PM
    I can't join the ROTC programs because of a bone problem I have. I'm not allowed in any programs such as army, navy, air force or marines and such. As for parents, I can't help much and the only teaching programs are for Science and Math teachers. They can go for free but the humanities programs have to be paid for.
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Dec 25, 2007, 08:22 PM