Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    gmaniax Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 26, 2005, 03:15 PM
    Need help -- how to medicate kitten with oral lamisil
    My new kitten has a dermatophyte (fungal ) infection and the vet recommended oral lamisil. The dosage is a 1/4 tablet twice a day for 4 weeks. I am having a hard time giving this to the kitten orally. I've tried pulverizing it and mixing it in his food and sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't... it apparently doesn't taste very good.
    Does anyone have any experience with the best ways to administer lamisil orally? I'm not sure how to dissolve and administer as a liquid.. I don't think it is that water soluble

Thanks

GM
    jennapbt Posts: 131, Reputation: 19

Dec 26, 2005, 10:46 PM
    I'm a vet tech at a clinic and when we have to administer pills to cats we have a special tool that you stick the pill at the end of it stick in in its mouth and push the plunger which causes the pill to go into the mouth. Maybe ask your vet where you can find one of those. Or get someone to help you hold the cat, have them scruff its neck real tight with one hand, then with their other hand have them grasp the top of the mouth then you help open the mouth and stick the pill down his mouth and then rub underneath his chin to push it down the throat.
    gmaniax Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 27, 2005, 05:28 AM
    Lamisil
    Thanks... I am actually looking for a less traumatic way... I got the kitten from a breeder 2-3 weeks ago and that is undoubtedly where he picked up the fungal infection. He is still very skittish and afraid of people so we are are trying to work with him to get him more people friendly...

If I can avoid manually forcing the medicine in twice daily, that would be the preferred route

It is slightly soluble in water or juice from food... but I was hoping for for experienced advice on ways to dissolve, etc

Thanks

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions