Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    dudette333 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Dec 13, 2007, 06:04 PM
    Tips for dying already dyed red hair brown again.
    My natural hair color is sort of an ashy brown... but I do have some red tint to it. I have been dying my hair red for a few years now and have decided that I would like to dye it brown again, does anyone know the easiest way to get this done WITHOUT going to a stylist?
    --I did try once before to dye it brown... a REALLY dark brown and it looked OK.. almost black for a few days, but after the first couple of times I washed it... with that brunette shampoo I might add lol, it turned red again. Almost like the permanent color just washed right out. It really irritated me so I figured I would see if anyone had experienced this dillemma before? Thanks so much for any help!:)
    PrettyLady Posts: 2,765, Reputation: 332
    -

Dec 13, 2007, 07:23 PM
    I recommend that you apply a deep conditioning treatment before re-coloring your hair. This will help grab and maintain the color. When coloring your hair, use a permanent hair color in ash brown or regular brown.

Dec 13, 2007, 08:49 PM
    Well, the problem is every time I do color my hair... since I have done it for awhile... I condition it the night before so it will adhere better. Lol. Thanks though... I had talked to my mom also and she said try an ashier color.. which is what I was going to do anyway! Lol so it sounds like that's the popular answer around here. I'm just so worried I'm going to do it for nothing you know?
    PrettyLady Posts: 2,765, Reputation: 332
    -

Dec 13, 2007, 09:15 PM
    Another option is to use your desired color with 10-volume peroxide developer. Mix the hair color and peroxide developer in equal parts and then apply it evenly throughout your hair. Leave the hair color mixture on your hair for 35 to 45 minutes then rinse it out. You will find separate hair coloring products and developers at a beauty supply store.