Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ronsall Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Dec 12, 2007, 07:40 PM
    Fix greyware. C:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
    AVG found the file and said it made a change to fix the problem, But trend housecall finds it every time. Housecall says it has successfully removed the infection from my PC and to run another scan, but it always comes up with it again every time I run it. Can someone tell me how to get rid of this thing? I have spent hours trying to find a cure. I found and tried HostsXpert.exe, but says it can not access the file C:\windows\ system32\drivers\etc\hosts

This is my first time here. Hope I am doing things right?

Thanks Much,
    Ron Salladay
    invisibleman_productions Posts: 207, Reputation: 12

Dec 13, 2007, 01:48 AM
    Do you have a firewall like zonealarm which locks the host files?
    but it always comes up with it again every time I run it.
    Could you tell us what avg finds and what comes up . i.e. the names of the spyware .
    Have you run any anti spyware programs?
    Please run all the steps on the link below (skip the steps for the programs you already have)
    Security News from the net: spyware fighter essentials

Dec 13, 2007, 02:29 PM
    Yes... Under File it has HOSTS
    Under Result/Infection it has CHANGE
    Under Path it has the... C\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

I have ran Spybot SD, spyware Vanisher, I have spyware Blaster on all of the time, PC Checkup, PC Tools antivirus, Reg Cure, Reg Cleaner, Registry Booster 2, Registry Fix, Spy Sweeper 5, 1-2-3- SpyWare Free, Spy Guard, Latest StopZilla, Trojan Remover6.6