Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    messenger Posts: 18, Reputation: 0

Dec 6, 2007, 11:54 AM
    Will shoplifting lead to visa rejection when it is applied for renewal
    I was recently caught for shoplifting in Texas. I'm here on a dependent visa.I really don't know what made me do shoplifting.this is my first time and I got caught. I stole earing and clothes worth 150$ and I was arrested and taken to jail . But was out on bail by nght. I feel really very ashamed of myself for what I have done and I regreting about it every single second . Can eat or sleep well. All my peace of mind got ruined by that silly maddness act of mine. I'm still waitng to apear in the court and waiting for the letter which will tell my date of appearing in the court. I'm so sacred and I don't know what to tel the judge. I wannted to plead to him how regretful I feel . But I'm not sure whether he will just warn me and let me go .
    Can anyone please tell me whether this will be a problem if I apply for extension of dependent visa and whether it might lead to rejection:-((. Will this shoplifting case appear in my record and will it be a hindrance for me , entering the USA the next time. Is it big offense tat will lead to rejection or will it all depend on the verdict given by the judge.
    I will be so grateful if anyone could help me get an answer for this problem.
    kp2171 Posts: 5,318, Reputation: 1612
    Uber Member

Dec 6, 2007, 12:36 PM
    talk to a lawyer.

not an expert in this area so hang around for more info from those who might know better. But a "story" I do know about...