Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ABChrist Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 4, 2007, 08:53 PM
    HIPAA Rule Conflict
    I am a health care professional. I work for a large organization. I recently worked with a family with a variety of personal problems and needed to get another health care professional to work with one of nonverbal members of the family to provide a very necessary service. I felt it was important to explain some of the family's personal issues in order for the healthcare professional to work with them, as they take offense easily and I wished for the second health care professional to avoid conflict so he/she could provide the very necessary service without being asked to leave. My agency has said that I violated the HIPAA rule in this communication. Any ideas of the truth of this statement?
    Thanks.
    charlotte234s Posts: 1,903, Reputation: 143
    Ultra Member

Dec 4, 2007, 09:02 PM
    You are not supposed to talk to another doctor/professional/person in general about someone's issues, problems, etc. whether they will be helping one day or not, that's what the charts are supposed to be for, I believe.

That's probably wy they said you violated HIPAA.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Dec 4, 2007, 09:02 PM
    One health care professoinal can disucss a case with another health care professoinal working on the same case.

i.e. day nurse tells evening nurse what ha happened, doctor explains to nurse what is needed, nurse tells doctor what is happening,

Now if you did not get permission for this other health care worker, if they are not part of your company, and if the family did not know they were getting this other person to help, and if you told this person things that was not actually needed to be told.

Also what offense, if it is not about the acutal medical condition, you can tell them about customs, and items social needs, not related to the actual medical care.