Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    snasheya Posts: 19, Reputation: 2

Nov 24, 2007, 06:04 AM
    Developing a thesis
    Hi !
    I've been reading a lot on how I can develop my thesis but I'm still having trouble.

I'm an environmental management student and I have 2 topic options. (word limit: 10 000 words max)

1. 'An environmental management plan for the Lower Liesbeek' *the Lower Liesbeek is part of the Liesbeek River in Cape Town (South Africa) and it is located on the urban edge of the city within a metropolitan park. There is a broader plan for the entire area already but mine would be a site specific plan. The problem with this is that it so practical I don't know how to integrate the theoretical component to it. I just don't have enough insight.

2. 'A comparative analysis: managing the lower Liesbeek through Public-private partnership'. How can I conceptualize this topic?

Regards,

Sally
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Nov 24, 2007, 06:24 AM
    Were these topic options already chosen for you, or can you develop any more if you want to?

Nov 24, 2007, 07:04 AM
    I can develop them in any way I wish to.
    Uber Member

Nov 24, 2007, 07:11 AM
    So, are you saying that they weren't already chosen for you?

Nov 24, 2007, 07:20 AM
    They were sort of given to me , but I am given the freedom to adjust them to a form that I am comfortable with. I think both are OK, I'm just not sure How to set out both their outlines.
    Uber Member

Nov 24, 2007, 07:32 AM
    I would suggest putting together at least four or five, simple statements for the topics. That way you will have more from which to choose for your topic. Your statement doesn't have to be wordy at all. Just needs to set the tone for the thesis. What you write in your thesis will take care of the rest based upon how you have worded your statement.