Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    aborremans Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Nov 21, 2007, 10:00 PM
    Idle "hunting" on 89 Honda Civic
    Hi, I'm new to this form but so far everyone seems fairly knowledgeable. I currently am driving a 1989 Honda Civic LX 1.5 with M/T PGM-FI and 181,000 miles. Recently, when my car reaches it's normal running temperature, my car will began to idle erratically, almost like it is "hunting" for where to idle, usually between 1500 and 3000 RPM. I only have the problem after the car warms up to it's normal running temperature, not before. Most of the time the idle is consistently in flux, going up and down between 1500 and 3000. The idle also will at random stick and not idle down, but will only do this temporarily for about 30 seconds. Lastly, some times, when I shut off the car and get out I smell a little gas fumes from exhaust. I immediately changed O2 sensor and still have problem. So far I have:

1) Checked Throttle Cable, it's not sticking and working fine

2) Took the Idle Air Control Valve (IAC) off, it was quite dirty, I cleaned it out with throttle body cleaner. Problem remains the same, although idle does not seem to jump or fall as fast.

3) I recently re-soldered my main relay (fuel injection relay?) as I was having issues with it supplying power to ECU and fuel pump.

4) Attempted replacing ECU. No change in problem.

5) Found throttle cable over adjusted. Readjusted throttle and idle to where they should be, problem continues.

6) All the other "obvious stuff" such as air filter and fuel filter and O2 sensor checked.

7) Took my ICM to Autozone and had them test it... It's working just as good as the day it was put on the car

8) Replaced Coil as it went bad

9) No CEL coming on or codes flashing on ECU