Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ChihuahuaMomma Posts: 7,378, Reputation: 608
    Vision Expert

Nov 17, 2007, 11:43 PM
    Make Shift Canvas
    I want to make a homemade canvas to paint a picture on. Actually I want to make three...

And the reason that I want to make it myself is so that I can customize the size, and it's cheaper...

Does anyone have any suggestions? :)
    charlotte234s Posts: 1,903, Reputation: 143
    Ultra Member

Nov 18, 2007, 12:07 AM
    I would bleach some burlap and staple it into a wooden frame, but I've never done this before, so maybe someone else has a better idea?

Good luck!
    Vision Expert

Nov 18, 2007, 12:09 AM
    I was thinking of something small... and thin.. I was thinking about buying some loose canvas and particle board... but that's not thin enough...

If this helps: I'm trying to make thin but sturdy canvasses to paint pictures on to sit in a picture holder sort of thing... I don't really know how to describe it... kinda like the things that hold plates on the wall...
    Ultra Member

Nov 18, 2007, 12:11 AM
    Hmm... Maybe get some corrugated cardboard and then put a loose canvas on it?
    Vision Expert

Nov 18, 2007, 12:12 AM
    That's kind of what I was thinking... but how to attach it? And I wouldn't think that the carboard would be sturdy enough to withstand the stretching of the canvas...
    Ultra Member

Nov 18, 2007, 12:13 AM
    You can get some pretty thick cardboard boxes and cut them yourself with an exacto knife.. you can attach the one side with glue maybe?
    Vision Expert

Nov 18, 2007, 12:15 AM
    I want something that will stand the test of time... I'm not sure that will... but not a bad suggestion.
    Ultra Member

Nov 18, 2007, 12:16 AM
    Well generally canvasses that aren't treated with chemicals to keep their color and not deteriorate don't last a long long time... maybe plywood, but I'm not sure either.
    Vision Expert

Nov 18, 2007, 12:18 AM