Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jmorris323 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Nov 14, 2007, 10:02 AM
    Contest a will?
    If you live with someone and they have a lawyer draw up a will leaving me 1/3 of
    His house upon his death can his 2 children fight that?
    charlotte234s Posts: 1,903, Reputation: 143
    Ultra Member

Nov 14, 2007, 10:03 AM
    The will is the legally binding, I don't see how his children would fight that legally, or why as they get their own 3rds I'm guessing.
    jmorris323 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Nov 14, 2007, 10:06 AM
    Comment on charlotte234s's post
    I did not mention this I am a nys resident so I am not sure
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Nov 15, 2007, 11:54 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by jmorris323
    If you live with someone and they have a lawyer draw up a will leaving me 1/3 of
    his house upon his death can his 2 children fight that?

Of course they can fight it - basically you can fight anyone over a Will. Do they have a chance of actually winning? If the facts are as you explained, I would say no. I am a little surprised that the Attorney drafted a Will awarding you 1/3 of the house and someone else, perhaps the children, the other two-thirds. Sounds like a legal problem waiting to happen.

What will happen to the house upon his death? That is a bigger question.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Nov 15, 2007, 01:33 PM
    Yes, of course I could fight it, I would not win, if the attorney draws up the will properly there should not be an issue.
    Now of course if you only have 1/3 of the home, is the home going to be sold, who decides what is a OK price to sellt he home for and so on.
    I would say that partial ownership is a nightmare ready to happen
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Nov 15, 2007, 01:50 PM