Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kellygirl1985 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 13, 2007, 06:45 PM
    How can I register as an independent student?
    I am 22 years old and I have not been living with my parents for about 15 months. I was told by my aunt that my cousin who is only 19 is registered in college as an independent student. I have not been able to do this because I am still considered an dependent student. My aunt said that all I needed to do is go to the college and tell them that I want to register as an independent student I really hope that someone might have some advise as to what do I do.
    charlotte234s Posts: 1,903, Reputation: 143
    Ultra Member

Nov 13, 2007, 09:37 PM
    You have to meet certain requirements, but yes, you can go to the school and register as an independent student if you do meet them.

Are You an Independent Student?

That's the FAFSA page with information on the requirements.
    joeannmaillo Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jan 5, 2008, 10:52 PM