Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    harlemsky Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 22, 2005, 10:59 AM
    1996 Honda Accord Starter
    I think I'm having problems with my starter.

A week ago I was driving down the road and my entire dashboard went out and then came back on in a split second. The car still drove fine and I was able to make it to my destination. The next morning when I got up my car would not start. Initially thinking it was my battery because I had errosion, my roommate and I tried to jump my car. When we tried to jump my car, my roommate noticed that there were sparks coming from my starter. I've since then cleaned my battery and replaced wires to it. Once I did that my car started up twice without a problem, but the third time it would not. Once again I noticed sparks coming from the starter. Any suggestions?
    dpfiend Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 19, 2005, 06:19 PM
    ??
    This is my first time on this site. ANYway I wanted to place my own post but saw another 96 accord thread.
    Well I need instructions on how to remove the ignition lock cylinder from my accord. It has some one way(security) type bolts that make removal seem very tough. Anybody have any ideas??
    hiperf402 Posts: 106, Reputation: -1

Apr 4, 2007, 04:38 AM
    Dpfiend, You Need To Take A Hammer And A Very Sharp Centerpunch To Remove Bolts Try One And If It Doesn't Come Off Easy, Try The Other. Once One Is Loose The Other Will Follow.

Harlemsky, Just Replace The Starter, Sometimes The L Shaped Solenoid Contacts Twist Inside Starter And Arc Battery Voltage To Ground.

Ps, I Know I'm Using All Caps, Not Yelling, Just Early In Morning And Too Tired To Change. Sorry.
    TxGreaseMonkey Posts: 16,761, Reputation: 5597
    Uber Member

Apr 4, 2007, 07:35 AM
    dpfiend, here's how to properly replace the steering lock assembly:

https://www.askmehelpdesk.com/cars-t...tml#post224842

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions