Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    chomp Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 11, 2007, 04:43 PM
    Using web forms to update a database
    Good Day All;

Let me say right from the start I am somewhat new at this.

At my place of work I am trying to convince the "higher_ups_" that using web forms and web reports is the way to go. It seems the only way I will be able to do this, is to develop an application @ home and show how it was done.
    This is what I would like to do.

Show how a web form can be used to collect data.
    Show how Web reports can be used to report.

I have been looking at MS Visual Web developer, Macromedia as a tool to use at home.
    The problem with any "new" tool, I need to develop it at home and then (screen shots and or Macromedia Captivate) show how it can be used.

Any suggestions.

Regards

Chomp
    vingogly Posts: 718, Reputation: 105

Nov 12, 2007, 07:18 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by chomp
    I have been looking at MS Visual Web developer, Macromedia as a tool to use at home.
    The problem with any "new" tool, I need to develop it at home and then (screen shots and or Macromedia Captivate) show how it can be used.
    It's not clear from the above what you mean by "new" tool: MS Visual Web developer and Macromedia, or something other than these. I'll assume you're including these tools in the "new" category.

My suggestion would be to do a simple set of forms and reports in PHP that uses a flat file database as a proof of concept, which I believe is what you're talking about. Usually with management types, it's good to develop a demonstration that relates to some degree to the actual work the company does.

I'd recommend the following text for its examples:

Amazon.com: PHP and MySQL Web Development (4th Edition) (Developer's Library): Books: Luke Welling,Laura Thomson