Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    hhalzate Posts: 11, Reputation: 1

Nov 8, 2007, 02:57 PM
    Attempting to become history teacher
    I am 26 yrs old and decided I am going to follow my dream to one day be a history teacher (middle school, high school, and eventually college). I am currently taking college courses in Latin and Greek in order to be accepted into a graduate program in ancient history. My question is, once I have a Master's will this be enough for me to receive a good job in teaching and how much does a history teacher make ( public or private) in the Tri-State area, especially NYC?
    NavyBlue1984 Posts: 13, Reputation: 1

Nov 14, 2007, 11:22 AM
    Teachers make very good money in general, and a masters is more than enough to get you a great teaching job. I can't tell you an exact salary because it varies from school to school, but it is probably more than substantial, seeing as you have your masters.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Nov 14, 2007, 11:28 AM
    Besides your masters, you will need to be certified for teaching in the tri-state area. If you don't mind teaching in NYC, especially lower income areas, the NYC Dept of Education is offering incentives.

Starting salaries are not that great, I think you can expect high 20s or low 30s to start. However, as you gain seniority the pay becomes much more competitive. Benefits are very good though.
    jasmine_rezzag Posts: 191, Reputation: 10

Dec 6, 2007, 01:33 AM
    I am great to know there is someone love history and want to to be a history teacher causei love history too! But I think if you really love your job(you said it is your dream),then no need to pay much attention to paying unless this job can't give you enough breads for living!if not,you can't focus on your job!and then you and your students won't be satisfied with your job! That is no good as education is very important!
    kbuchholtz Posts: 110, Reputation: 2