Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    celeste sims Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 31, 2007, 08:49 AM
    Unemployment Appeals
    I have an unemployment appeals coming up. I was fired because I had a critically ill sibling in south america in a coma. I am the only member of family fluent in spanish and I also work as a spanish interpreter. My disabled mother whom I live with had to be accompanied to south america so that she could make decisions affecting my brothers life. Because no interpreter was provided in the south american hospital I had to stay there over a month until my brother came out of the coma. My employer has denied me unemployment benefits although I have certified letters from the hospital stating the critical situation and my need to be there with my disabled mother and unconscience brother. I have an appeals tomorrow and need advice on how I can get the employer to pay.
    famlee Posts: 79, Reputation: 6

Oct 31, 2007, 03:29 PM
    You can't "get" the employer to pay. If you have a hearing then you will explain your situation and why you were fired and why you feel you are entitled to unemployment compensation. Your employer will have a chance to tell their side. Then the appeal panel/person will decide if you are entitled to unemployment compensation or not. I can't remember if the unemployment office handles the appeal or a 3rd party and if it's a panel of people or one person to make the decision. I went through this process once about 6 years ago.

If the employer used your past job performance as a reason to fire you, then you might lose. Such as, if you had excessive tardies/absents.

Did you request time off for this situation or just call and say, " I won't be at work for x amount of time?"

Did you fill out the forms for the FMLA?
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Nov 1, 2007, 08:35 AM