Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    applehead2007 Posts: 43, Reputation: 2

Oct 30, 2007, 05:53 PM
    I wanted a break and now we are over
    This is my first time using this site, but I am impressed with the thoughtfulness of the answers, so I hope someone can help me out.

I am a 27 year old female and until recently I was in a 3 1/2 year relationship with a 36 year-old man. We met at work and right off the bat, it was pretty intense. He was convinced I was "the one" I think almost right away. Obviously, the 9 year age difference was a bigger problem for me than for him, because I had very little relationship experience. I really wanted a chance to date other guys, but we clicked and so I repressed it for a long time. Then about a year and a half into the relationship, my boyfriend announced he wanted to move to California. He did the whole "I want you to go, but if you don't I understand." That threw me off and I guess I never let go of it. Of course, from that point on I had another issue with the relationship on top of the age and dating thing. We moved to California and then moved again to Colorado a year later because he is an outdoors guy but California was too expensive. So anyway, I am struggling with the whole moving/starting over part more than him. I get real homesick and depressed, so I tell him I want to take a break. The first time I took a break was 6 months ago, but it was only for a couple weeks. Then I moved back despite feeling unresolved about the relationship. From there of course it got worse and I started to nag him a lot and complain when he tried to do anything to make me happy. Nothing was good enough. He wasn't good enough. I was just in a bad place.