Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Gymnastic-Sam Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 28, 2007, 11:41 AM
    Gymnastics conditioning
    Hi I am a 16 year old girl and used to do some recreational gymnastics from 10-13. I live in England. I was very flexible but not strong enough to do well. Recently, I have become interested in doing the sport again (I am a recreation coach) and need some advice. I want to get really good at gymnastics and am prepared to work hard. Unfortunately due to school etc I can't join a club at the moment, but hope definitely to partcipate in uni gymnastics in 2yrs. I was hoping for a list of nightly conditioning exercises. I haven't done gymnastics for a while so exercises that I can build upon e.g. sit ups would be better. I would also be grateful for some flexibility advice. I particularly beed to build up both strength and fleibility in my back but don't know how. I need to improve my whole body flexibility as well tough, so need some drills to do. I have no real equipment other than some ankle/wrist weights and floor space. If I work really hard, considering my age, how good could I get and how long would it take?
    Thanks.
    Stratmando Posts: 11,188, Reputation: 508
    Uber Member

Oct 28, 2007, 12:37 PM
    Practice walking on hands is cheap and tough, and fun. Unicycles are good practice and good for Balance, if you could get a set of Rings hanging from a tree, good exercise.
    A set of Parallell Bars, portable, could be wood or metal, and at Ground level, then Tape. Allow you to practice on hands. I used to like sitting down in Lotus Position, swing legs through and up to a handstand. Don't remember how long it took. Had to fail Many times first, as with the unicycle. I am 50 now and still ride a 6' Unicycle.
    Also, any chance you get at a swimming Pool with Diving Board, Practice front and back Flips. Good Luck. Stretch, Take Care
    besse123 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 28, 2010, 04:34 PM
    Hello,