Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ihave1question Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 25, 2007, 03:54 PM
    How do I distract myself from my feeling of failure?
    So I'm sorry if this is a repeat topic, I searched but I didn't really see anything like my question... I'm a 19 yrold college student who I'm just lost and lonely and I have all these feelings of being a failure... this isn't the first time I've had these feelings... last semester(spring) I did too... it's just becoming a bad repeat. I live alone(my choice) because before I got caught up in all this drama, and I am focused on my studies I always was... but all my profs ask me about grad schools and what I want to do with my life what I want to study... but all I can think about it how happy I will be went I can graduate(forced to stay at university by parents) and I can just move away and get somewhere better. I just feel like such a failure... disappointing my profs with each quiz and test I take, disappointing my parents with my average marks in school. I just want to move away from all of this and just get a job as a waitress where I can just do something every day... it's this stagnant water feeling I'm getting here. And I'm a chem major and it's very isolating... the other chem majors either party-hardy or commute and want to go to grad school... just looking to do enough to graduate and do decently well on tests and I just want to learn things, I used to love learning things... but now... I'm so distracting by the failure issue...

Sorry about the length/ranting

Please let me know if anyone has any tricks with distracting themselves from feelings of failure, it would be greatley appreciated...
    Choux Posts: 3,047, Reputation: 376
    Ultra Member

Oct 25, 2007, 04:02 PM
    I would say at this time in your life, you need variety. A lot more variety than you have now.

You could get a part time job as a waitress at night on the weekends.

Take up a sport; that's mandatory

Take up a hobby.