Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    nickynak Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 24, 2007, 12:32 PM
    1099 employee
    I will be starting a part-time job doing some accounting work and the company that is hiring me said they will be giving me a 1099 form instead of w-2. I realize I have to pay taxes on my own, but I have the following questions:
    1. Do I have to pay taxes quarterly?
    2. Since I don't own this business, can I still take deductions like milage?
    3. I am also a part-time student trying to finish my accounting degree, since what I am studying helps me with my new job, can school expenses be deductible?
    4. Are there any other deductions that I can take? ( I won't be working from home.)
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Oct 24, 2007, 04:38 PM
    1) Probably, to make sure that you have the money come time to file your tax return.

2) You DO own a business. It is accounting work done on a contract basis.

3) NO! Any education that qualifies you for a profession cannot be deducted as employee business or training expenses.

4) Mileage, tools needed for the work (like a laptop), office supplies, cell phone costs if you use the cell phone for the contract work.
    Mobea Posts: 220, Reputation: 15

Oct 24, 2007, 05:18 PM
    If the mileage is for driving back and forth to the office (company) you will be working for, then it is considered commuting miles, non deductible.
    Senior Tax Expert

Oct 25, 2007, 09:17 AM
    Sorry, Scott, but Mobea IS correct.

The initial trip from your home to the office, and the last trip from the office to home, IS commuting, whether you are being paid under a W-2 or under a Form 1099.

The IRS has made that point abundantly clear in multiple publications.
    nickynak Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 25, 2007, 09:25 AM
    I emailed the IRS about the commuting and this is part of the overall response they gave me regarding commuting: